Wahala

Nikki May

£14.99

Hardback

Fiction

ISBN: 9780857527783

Description

SEX AND THE CITY with a killer edge for fans of QUEENIE, EXPECTATION and MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR BBC TV SERIAL’Funny, shocking, unputdownable.

I loved it’ PAULA HAWKINS’Witty, tense and addictive’ ABIGAIL DEAN, Author of GIRL A’Terrific.

Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives’ CLARE CHAMBERS————Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London.

They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English.

Not all of them choose to see it that way. Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future.

Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again. When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking.

When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself. Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror.

Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms. PICKED AS ONE OF STYLIST MAGAZINE’S ‘FICTION BOOKS YOU CAN’T MISS OF 2022’READERS ARE OBSESSED WITH WAHALA’This book is absolute fire.

I could not put it down. Fantastically written, the story is so engaging and tense.

Sexy, dark, addictive. What an incredible novel’ ***** Reader review’Dark and addictive with a surprising twist (that i won’t give away!) and Nikki’s writing is completely flawless’ *****’I couldn’t believe it was a debut.

I couldn’t put it down. Nikki May has written a fantastic story of friendship, revenge and jealousy’ ***** ‘Wonderful characters with plenty of rich and vibrant detail of their shared culture from hair to food’ *****’A fabulous depiction of female friendship, with a surprisingly dark twist’ *****Authors love WAHALA too: ‘Funny, tragic, piercing portrait of modern women and friendship written in glittering and discerning prose’ EMMA STONEX’Sharp, precise, unapologetic, modern.

In one word, Exquisite!’ Lola Akinmade Akerstroem, author of IN EVERY MIRROR SHE’S BLACK’I have a feeling this book is going to be huge’ MARIANNE CRONIN’Bold, juicy and real.

WAHALA is tense and powerful’ LAUREN NORTH’Fantastic!

Brilliant writing about food and friendship. I was left wanting more’ SARAH PEARSE’Love that ‘Sex and the City’ has finally met moi-moi and plantain with a whole lot of Wahala thrown in’ ROSANNA AMAKA*** PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW ***

Delivery options

Orders are processed and dispatched Monday to Friday.

Estimated Dispatch Times:

Items are usually dispatched within twenty-four to seventy-two hours. Dispatch time does not include delivery. If one or more items are not available when you place your order there may be a delay in dispatch, so that we can send your items in as few parcels as possible. 

Latest UK Delivery Estimates

  • 1st Class - 1-2 working days
  • 2nd Class -  2-3 working days
  • Free Click and Collect at Daunt Books Marylebone

Latest International Delivery Estimates

  • Europe - Standard 7-10 working days
  • Europe - Tracked and Signed 4-7 working days
  • Rest of the World - Standard 15-20 working days
  • Rest of the World - Tracked and Signed 10-15 working days

Ongoing Covid restrictions, reduced air and freight capacity, high volumes and winter weather conditions are all impacting transportation and local delivery across the globe. 

Overseas Delivery Information

We are experiencing delays with deliveries to many countries, but in most cases local services have now resumed. For more details, please consult the latest information provided by Royal Mail's International Incident Bulletin.

Overseas Customs

If you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to import duties and taxes, which are levied once the goods reach the country of destination.

Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be paid by you. It is accepted by you that Daunt Books has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. We recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order as this changes country to country. 

Additional information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 25 × 17 × 8 cm