The Ghost of Gosswater

Lucy Strange

£6.99

A thrilling Gothic tale told in deft and luminous language.

Paperback

Children's Books > Confident Readers

ISBN: 9781911077848

Description

A thrilling Gothic tale from the author of Our Castle by the Sea, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. ‘Told in deft and luminous language, The Ghost of Gosswater is storytelling at its very best.’ Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS ‘Family secrets, a ghost girl and a forbidding manor house that goes up in smoke …

You can’t help rooting for Agatha in this spooky, addictive tale of friendship and family.’ THE TIMES’Eerie, shimmering, unputdownable’ HILARY MCKAY, winner of the Costa Book Award The Lake District, 1899 The Earl is dead and cruel Cousin Clarence has inherited everything. Twelve-year-old Lady Agatha Asquith is cast out of Gosswater Hall to live in a tiny, tumbledown cottage with a stranger who claims to be her father. Aggie is determined to discover her real identity, but she is not alone on her quest for the truth. On the last day of the year, when the clock strikes midnight, a mysterious girl of light creeps through the crack in time; she will not rest until the dark, terrible secrets of the past have been revealed … The third novel by acclaimed bestselling author Lucy Strange, author of The Secret of Nightingale Wood and Our Castle by the Sea A thrilling gothic adventure for young readers aged 9 and up – perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Frances Hardinge Follows strong-willed heroine Agatha Gosswater as she untangles the dark mystery of her own past, with the backdrop of the eerie Gosswater Lake


Delivery options

Orders are processed and dispatched Monday to Friday.

Estimated Dispatch Times:

Items are usually dispatched within twenty-four to seventy-two hours. Dispatch time does not include delivery. If one or more items are not available when you place your order there may be a delay in dispatch, so that we can send your items in as few parcels as possible. 

Latest UK Delivery Estimates

  • 1st Class - 1-2 working days
  • 2nd Class -  2-3 working days
  • Free Click and Collect at Daunt Books Marylebone

Latest International Delivery Estimates

  • Europe - Standard 7-10 working days
  • Europe - Tracked and Signed 4-7 working days
  • Rest of the World - Standard 15-20 working days
  • Rest of the World - Tracked and Signed 10-15 working days

UK Christmas Delivery Times

Ongoing Covid restrictions, reduced air and freight capacity, high volumes and winter weather conditions are all impacting transportation and local delivery across the globe. 

UK Final Posting Dates

  • 2nd Class - Saturday 18th December 2021
  • 1st Class & 1st Class Signed - Monday 20th December 2021

International Standard & International Tracking and Signature Services

  • Monday 6th December - Australia, Greece, Italy, New Zealand and Portugal
  • Wednesday 8th December - Africa, Central and South America, Asia, Far and Middle East
  • Friday 10th December - Eastern Europe (except Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia), Turkey, Cyprus, Malta and Sweden
  • Monday 13th December - Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Poland and USA
  • Thursday 16th December - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Overseas Delivery Information

We are experiencing delays with deliveries to many countries, but in most cases local services have now resumed. For more details, please consult the latest information provided by Royal Mail's International Incident Bulletin.

Overseas Customs

If you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to import duties and taxes, which are levied once the goods reach the country of destination.

Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be paid by you. It is accepted by you that Daunt Books has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. We recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order as this changes country to country. 

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 5 cm