Real Life (Signed Edition)

Brandon Taylor

£9.99

An outstanding debut novel shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize

Paperback

Daunt Books Publishing > Fiction

ISBN: 9781911547747

Published July 2020 by Daunt Books Publishing

327 pages

Description

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE

FOYLES FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020

Wallace has spent his summer in the lab breeding a strain of microscopic worms. He is four years into a biochemistry degree at a lakeside Midwestern university, a life that’s a world away from his childhood in Alabama. His father died a few weeks ago, but Wallace didn’t go back for the funeral, and he hasn’t told his friends – Miller, Yngve, Cole and Emma. For reasons of self-preservation, he has become used to keeping a wary distance even from those closest to him. But, over the course of one blustery end-of-summer weekend, the destruction of his work and a series of intense confrontations force Wallace to grapple with both the trauma of the past, and the question of the future.

Deftly zooming in and out of focus, Real Life is a deeply affecting story about the emotional cost of reckoning with desire, and overcoming pain.

‘Astonishingly accomplished . . . Brandon Taylor has written a truly exquisite story of love, sex, death, and microbes that is both intimate and expansive.’ – Times Literary Supplement 

‘Unquestionably the queer novel of the year . . . An essential novel from a truly exciting new writer.’ – Irish Times

‘Psychologically compelling, incisively satirical, told in a muted style that nevertheless accesses a full emotional range, this is a brilliant book, worthy of a wide audience.’ – Observer

Real Life is a campus novel in the tradition of Sally Rooney and Ben Lerner, and Taylor is as good as either of them – a sharp, witty and generous writer.’ – Literary Review

‘An elegant take on the “campus novel” and a deeply moving study of race, grief and desire.’ – Sunday Times

‘With the rigour of the laboratory, Taylor wields scalpel-like prose, putting human behaviours under the microscope . . . Precise and masterly.’ – Financial Times 

‘The prose is exact and clear; Taylor has a keen sensitivity for surface detail.’ – The Times

‘With its icily cool sentences, mysterious tonal shifts and determinedly open ending, Taylor’s novel is a curiously liquid thing, with troubling, opaque depths.’ – Guardian

‘Taylor is a masterful observer, his details of everything from a tennis match to sex and dissections both clinically and exquisitely precise.’ – Telegraph

‘Stunningly executed . . . As in the modernist novels of Woolf, Real Life is formally ambitious and densely suggestive: worlds exist beneath the surface, violently shifting against one another.’ – Sydney Morning Herald

‘A great American novel, a great college novel, a great summer novel, a great queer novel, a great novel of life as it has always been lived by young people waiting for their “real life” to begin, and just a really, really great novel . . . The best novel I’ve read this year.’ – Dazed

Real Life beautifully dissects themes of loss, rejection, sexual violence and racism with forensic, but compassionate insight.’ – Uli Lenard, Attitude Magazine

‘There is delicacy in the details of working in a lab full of microbes and pipettes that dances across the pages like the feet of a Cunningham dancer: pure, precise poetry.’ – Jeremy O. Harris, New York Times

‘A new kind of campus novel . . . Taylor endows his narrative with the precision of science and the intimacy of memoir.’ – The New Yorker

‘A tender, deeply-felt, perfectly-paced novel about solitude and society, sexuality and race.’ – Colm Tóibín, author of Brooklyn

‘Extraordinary, brilliant, claustrophobic, tightly wound, heartbreaking.’ – Daisy Johnson, author of Everything Under

 

Delivery options

Orders are processed and dispatched Monday to Friday.

Estimated Dispatch Times:

Items are usually dispatched within twenty-four to seventy-two hours. Dispatch time does not include delivery. If one or more items are not available when you place your order there may be a delay in dispatch, so that we can send your items in as few parcels as possible. 

Latest UK Delivery Estimates

  • 1st Class - 1-2 working days
  • 2nd Class -  2-3 working days
  • Free Click and Collect at Daunt Books Marylebone

Latest International Delivery Estimates

  • Europe - Standard 7-10 working days
  • Europe - Tracked and Signed 4-7 working days
  • Rest of the World - Standard 15-20 working days
  • Rest of the World - Tracked and Signed 10-15 working days

UK Christmas Delivery Times

Ongoing Covid restrictions, reduced air and freight capacity, high volumes and winter weather conditions are all impacting transportation and local delivery across the globe. 

UK Final Posting Dates

  • 2nd Class - Saturday 18th December 2021
  • 1st Class & 1st Class Signed - Monday 20th December 2021

International Standard & International Tracking and Signature Services

  • Monday 6th December - Australia, Greece, Italy, New Zealand and Portugal
  • Wednesday 8th December - Africa, Central and South America, Asia, Far and Middle East
  • Friday 10th December - Eastern Europe (except Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia), Turkey, Cyprus, Malta and Sweden
  • Monday 13th December - Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Poland and USA
  • Thursday 16th December - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Overseas Delivery Information

We are experiencing delays with deliveries to many countries, but in most cases local services have now resumed. For more details, please consult the latest information provided by Royal Mail's International Incident Bulletin.

Overseas Customs

If you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to import duties and taxes, which are levied once the goods reach the country of destination.

Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be paid by you. It is accepted by you that Daunt Books has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. We recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order as this changes country to country. 

Additional information

Weight 0.45 kg
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 5 cm