A Thousand Ships

Natalie Haynes

£8.99

Paperback

Fiction

ISBN: 9781509836215

Description

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020One of the Guardian’s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames.

Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over.

Troy has fallen. From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war. Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story. ‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe’A gripping feminist masterpiece’ – Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

Delivery options

Orders are processed and dispatched Monday to Friday.

Estimated Dispatch Times:

Items are usually dispatched within twenty-four to seventy-two hours. Dispatch time does not include delivery. If one or more items are not available when you place your order there may be a delay in dispatch, so that we can send your items in as few parcels as possible. 

Latest UK Delivery Estimates

  • 1st Class - 1-2 working days
  • 2nd Class -  2-3 working days
  • Free Click and Collect at Daunt Books Marylebone

Latest International Delivery Estimates

  • Europe - Standard 7-10 working days
  • Europe - Tracked and Signed 4-7 working days
  • Rest of the World - Standard 15-20 working days
  • Rest of the World - Tracked and Signed 10-15 working days

UK Christmas Delivery Times

Ongoing Covid restrictions, reduced air and freight capacity, high volumes and winter weather conditions are all impacting transportation and local delivery across the globe. 

UK Final Posting Dates

  • 2nd Class - Saturday 18th December 2021
  • 1st Class & 1st Class Signed - Monday 20th December 2021

International Standard & International Tracking and Signature Services

  • Monday 6th December - Australia, Greece, Italy, New Zealand and Portugal
  • Wednesday 8th December - Africa, Central and South America, Asia, Far and Middle East
  • Friday 10th December - Eastern Europe (except Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia), Turkey, Cyprus, Malta and Sweden
  • Monday 13th December - Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Poland and USA
  • Thursday 16th December - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Overseas Delivery Information

We are experiencing delays with deliveries to many countries, but in most cases local services have now resumed. For more details, please consult the latest information provided by Royal Mail's International Incident Bulletin.

Overseas Customs

If you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to import duties and taxes, which are levied once the goods reach the country of destination.

Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be paid by you. It is accepted by you that Daunt Books has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. We recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order as this changes country to country. 

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 5 cm